SRM University win John Memorial all-India volley

SRM University were crowned champions of the Daily Thanthi P John Memorial all-India volleyball tournament after beating ONGC, Dehradun 3-0 (25-18, 26-24, 25-18) in a dominating final at the MRK Stadium. It took SRM only a little more than an hour to wrap up the proceedings on a humid evening. SRM University won the Dr. Sivanthi Gold Cup and a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh. 

Earlier, IOB, Chennai beat ICF 3-2 (21-25, 30-28, 25-22, 18-25, 15-11) in the third-place play-off match. A Muthusamy (best setter, SRM), G R Vaishnav (best blocker, IOB), Vinith Kumar (best attacker, ONGC), Jerome Vinith (best universal, SRM) and P Prabhakaran (best libero, ICF) won awards.