Indian Society for Radiation Biology (ISRB) 

Indian Society for Radiation Biology (ISRB) is  one of the premier Scientific Society of about more than 500 life members from India and abroad. The main objective of the society is to organize meetings, conferences, workshop to educate the students and researchers from various Institutes/Universities about radiation biology and allied sciences. Moreover, the Society is also actively involved in Organizing Awareness Programmes, conduct essay competitions and promote scientific publications for dissemination of knowledge and development in radiation sciences and allied research areas to Members, non-Members, professionals and public.

Objectives of the Society

The aim of the society is to promote the cause of radiation biology by the following means:

  • Encouragement and support of research activities concerning the interaction of ionizing and non- ionizing radiations with biological systems including molecules of biological importance and applications of the knowledge thus gained for human welfare.

  • Organization of Congresses, Symposia, Workshops and Schools for research and training.

  • Publication of results of research in radiation biology.

  • Preparation and publication of communications, which would be of help in the coordination of research between scientists.

  • Encouragement for establishing all India collection of material, slides and scientific publications for research and training.

  • Assists in collaboration between scientists from different discipline at National and International levels.

  • Provision of fellowship and prizes to out-standing research workers in the field of radiation biology.

  • Any other legitimate means to further the cause of radiation biology in India. The society shall endeavor to cooperate with other appropriate National and International bodies.

Executive Council (2013-15)

Dr. Madhu Bala      
(President Incharge)

Head, Radiation Biology, Institute of Nuclear Medicine & Allied Sciences, Delhi

Dr. Sunil Kumar
(Vice President)

National Institute of Occupational Health, Ahmedabad

Dr. R. K. Purohit

Department of Zoology, Govt. Dungar College, Bikaner

Dr. V. K. Kalia

Department of Biophysics, National Institute of Mental Health & Neuro Sciences, Bangalore


Department of Genetics, Sri Ramachandra University, Chennai

Dr. SuchithaKumari 

Department of Biochemistry, K. S. Hedge Medical Academy, Mangalore

Dr. Dhanraj Soyal

Deapartment of Zoology, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur

Dr.Y. B. Tripathi 

Department of Medicinal Chemistry, Institute of Medical Sciences, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

Dr. Seema Singh 

Department of Zoology, NSN. P. G. College, Lucknow

Dr. Ramakant Sharma

Department of Zoology, Ramadevi Girls College, Nua, Jhunjhunu

Dr. ArunChougle

S.M.S. Medical College & Hospitals,  Jaipur

Dr. A. K. Pundir

MLN College Yamuna Nagar (Haryana)

Dr. Narendra K. Jain 

Department of Zoology, Government College, Chimanpura

Dr. C. S. Beniwal

Institute of Nuclear Medicine & Allied Sciences, Delhi

Dr. Mansoor M. Ahmed
(Co-opted member)

National Cancer Institute (NCI), National Institutes of Health, USA

Dr. Carmel Mothersil
(Co-opted member)

Mc Master University,  Hamilton, Canada

Dr. Mc Kenna
(Co-opted member)

Oxford University, Oxford, UK

Dr. S. C. Jain
(Co-opted member)

Centre for Fire, Explosives & Environment Safety, Delhi

Dr. C. K. K. Nair
(Co-opted member)

Pusphagiri Institue of Medical Sciences & Research Centre ,Tiruvalla

For Further Details about society visit